You are here: Home | MCCC Awards

Mike Jackson Award

< go back to list

Year: 2009
Awarded to: Terry Church

At the age of ten, Terry played his first competitive game of cricket when he was a member of the team representing Wall Heath Church of Ascension School in The Brierley Hill and District Junior Schools Competition. Batting at first wicket down he made seven not out as his side were dismissed for thirty one in the process of which he ran out four of his young colleagues. Even at that tender age he realized that any talent that he had would be better exploited in administration rather than playing. His playing career was confined to teenage years with Himley and later a few seasons with Wall Heath.

His first position was as Secretary of Wall Heath CC and he was then approached in 1974 to become Secretary of The Worcestershire Cricket Association who he then represented as a Delegate to the Committee of The Midlands Club Cricket Conference before being elected a full member in 1976, serving on the Committee for over twenty years. He was seconded to the General Purposes Committee and has been a member for over thirty years. Terry organized the Annual Dinner for eight years and the Annual Quiz for four years. He also edited the yearbook for five years. He took over as Chairman of the GP Committee for six years until his appointment as Chairman of MCCC in 1995, a position he held for three years. He was honoured to be Conference President in 2006.

A close friend of the late Mike Jackson he was delighted to be the first recipient of The Mike Jackson Award for Services to Conference.

Outside cricket his other hobby is the collecting of information and writing about his 'village of Wall Heath'. This year he has published his fourth book on the village,a village that does not appear on many maps but has produced an England cricketer in Jack Flavell plus two other capped Worcestershire players, Paul Pidgeon and Stuart Lampitt. In addition cricketers raised in Wall Heath who have been honoured by Conference are Graham Hudson (Wombourne CC) who was Cricketer of the Year in 1975 and Alec Hastilow Award Winners Stuart Lampitt (1982) and Alistair Maiden (1999) and in 2007 Steve Hughes received The Norman Sharp Award, all three being members of Himley CC.

Terry Church

Terry Church